In order to fix an earlier problem, I was advised by a techie to make another admin account. Now we have two, His and Hers, each with its own setup, desktop, and so on. I could keep both, of course, but don't want to, or need to at this time. There have been some slight unaccountable changes that I can overlook for now [except for academic curiosity], but now want to delete one of the accounts [His.] I could barge ahead as I've been wont to do with the PC, where I had no fear of not being able to fix whatever might go wrong. However, I don't yet have that confidence with the Mac.
Step by step, how would I delete the one account [His] and so wind up with only the one default option, [Hers]? When using [His] and trying to do this via Apple/Preferences/Accounts, then [Hers] is faded and inaccessible, and vice versa. I could presume that I would be in [His] to then delete [His], and be simply left with [Hers] which would then be accessible by default. I see that I must log out then in again if having made these changes. I simply do not want to be left with nothing, having done something in the wrong order, or something altogether inappropriate. Any suggestions are appreciated.
One unaccountable change, for example: Initially, in [His], I can invoke the dashboard by pressing the scroll wheel on the mouse. In [Hers] that option is not available. A simple, silly thing, but I don't like things being unaccountable or not having some simple apparent solution [defining "simple" as that which has been discovered through experience. I find math simple; others can find it a nightmare.]
Another topic, I realise, but after a third "hang", this time Safari again, I am wondering why I changed from the PC, and have now spent close to $3000 on hardware and software, in order to specifically avoid such incidents. No offense to anyone, I'm just venting a little frustration here; must be my age.
David.
[quote ]I could presume that I would be in [His] to then delete [His], and be simply left with [Hers] which would then be accessible by default.[/quote]
Yes, self deletes self.
[quote ]One unaccountable change, for example: Initially, in [His], I can invoke the dashboard by pressing the scroll wheel on the mouse. In [Hers] that option is not available.[/quote]
I am not an authority on Dashboard, which I dislike and deactivate. But you should be able to configure this in Preferences. The only explanation for a change in default behaviour is... User behaviour. (o;
[quote ]Another topic, I realise, but after a third "hang", this time Safari again, I am wondering why I changed from the PC, and have now spent close to $3000 on hardware and software, in order to specifically avoid such incidents.
[/quote]
As an experienced computer user, you know that there is no OS than cannot be made to lock up.
An unresponsive application can be closed with the Force Quit command (Apple menu). Otherwise, if the OS is suddenly freezing, do as you would do with an M-Windows PC to investigate: remove all unnecessary USB devices and try to re-create the problem so you can identify the cause. In my experience, OS lock-ups are usually related to the hardware.
If it's Safari that keeps hanging, maybe it's a particular Web page or plug-in that is causing the problem. Adobe Flash is one of my first suspects but Javascript can be a problem too. I prefer Firefox with the Flashblock extension.
Thanks, z-mac. The first was the more important issue.
David.
Here is a step-by-step procedure for deleting an account. It may be useful to you if it's the user interface that is not clear to you:
http://kb.iu.edu/data/akmk.html
Quote from: z-mac on September 07, 2009, 10:31:12 AM
Here is a step-by-step procedure for deleting an account.
Thank you again, but that would seem be if the account is not an administrator account [?] and that is my dilemma. I have two administrator accounts, and have to be in the one I want to lose in order to get rid of it. Then I see I must log out and in to seal the process somehow. My question is, will the computer switch to and leave the other admin account and opening desktop screen etc when that is said and done? I presume it will, but being quite new with this system don't want to end up with an anchor and having to haul it back to the service dept and perhaps have to leave it for a while. If I lived by myself, I'd just plow ahead. But I'm married [happily, and want to keep it that way.]
David.
> I have two administrator accounts, and have to be in the one I
> want to lose in order to get rid of it.
Umm, not in my experience. From any account in OS X, open the
Accounts Preference Pane, and click on the lock icon in the lower left corner, labelled:
Click the lock to make changes You do have to enter an Admin account name and password. It doesn't matter which, if you have more than one. You can then select an account, and add or remove the Admin status (i.e. check or uncheck
Allow user to administer this computer) for it. Or indeed delete any account but the one into which you are currently logged.
Notes:
- The checkbox next to Allow user to administer this computer will be greyed out, if it is the only account on the computer with Admin status.
- When deleting accounts, you may wish to select 'Save the home folder in a disk image' in case there is anything in the Account to be deleted that you might wish to retain.
Further reading: Apple Knowledgebase HT3309: Mac OS X 10.5: Working with user accounts and Accounts preferences (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3309)
Sorry for the late reply, Ben, but too many irons in the fire. Anyhow it worked like a charm, thanks, BUT ....
Now, when I use the email program it asks for our Sympatico password every time we want to send an email. In that dialogue it asks if we want to save it to the Keychain, whatever that does. Retrieving is not problem. Why these surprises when it was finally being well behaved with the two admin accounts installed? The second administrator account was set up to avoid all of this keychain stuff in the first place, and it was the original badly behaved [at first] admin account that was deleted today. I installed Snow Leopard, which might be the culprit. But still, these changes should not occur.
David.