Hello,
I have taken on the task of dusting off an unused, and mostly forgotten, G3 tower and updating for use in my studio (use being multimedia - i.e. photoshop and premier). The mac originally had OS 9 on it and I managed to find a copy of Panther (10.3) kicking around so I've installed that onto the computer. The former user had a number of files on the G3 when it was in use under OS 9, and there is currently only 2 gigs available of the original 8 gigs.
I have gone through the hard drive and noticed that the OS 9 folders are listed, as well as an OS 9 desktop folder. I was wondering if I can just delete these two folders and free up a bulk of the space on the HD, or is there a possibility of information/software loss (as in, are OS 9 and OS 10.3 somehow linked?) if I do delete OS 9 completely. OR am I totally looking in the totally wrong area for freeing up space? Should I be looking under other sub-files for deleting?
Any and all info would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
MU4L
Deleting the old OS system folders shouldn't cause any serious data loss -- except for the old OS, of course.
yeah, I'm not concerned with the OS 9 files, I know both OSs are stand alone, but I wasn't totally sure if there were any linkages when doing an upgrade.
Well I deleted the OS 9 files and it freed up about a gig.
The only "link" that I know of that may cause concern is the System Folder/Fonts from OS 9 - OS X loads those and you may notice you have lost a few fonts from OS 9 - no big deal usually, you can move them to OS X's Library/Font folder before deleting OS 9.
Dan